Utah Reforms Law on Street-Legal ATV Driving

ATV and the sunsetUtah has allowed the use of all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) on certain roads subject to new guidelines, including quads that must be street-legal.

Drivers below 18 years old must wear a helmet and own a driver’s license whether they operate a new or a pre-owned ATV in Salt Lake City. The same rule still applies to older drivers, yet the restriction for people under 21 years old will change in 2018.

State approval

Utah House of Representatives approved a bill in February 2017 for the use of street-legal ATVs. Rep. Mike Noel said the measure addressed an issue of equality, as he believes that there is no valid reason for outlawing a street-legal vehicle.

The proposal benefits drivers in Salt Lake County, as it has more registered off-road vehicles than any other county in Utah. Prior to the approved legislation, the county was the only one to ban the use of ATVs on streets or roads. There are, however, specific exemptions for using all-terrain vehicles.

Other rules

Take note that you must not drive an ATV in a first-class county with a 50-mph speed limit. The rule also restricts drivers to travel on a highway near a grade crossing. Highway authorities may also close a portion of a road as off-limits to ATV drivers. Road traffic rules for motorcycles in the state apply to ATVs as well.

Your street-legal ATV should also have an illuminated registration plate, head and tail lamps, a warning device and rear-view mirrors among other safety equipment. Despite several requirements, Rep. Lee Perry believes that driving an off-highway vehicle is “probably safer in many cases than a bicycle.”

Utahns undoubtedly love to use ATVs as a form of recreation, especially those in Salt Lake County. Like any other pasttime activity, you should always observe safety when operating an off-road vehicle.